Pristine scenery - for unique moments

A hint of enchantment, with magnificent views of Hohe Tauern National Park and its mountains. This is Taxenbach, at the mouth of Rauris Valley in the heart of SalzburgerLand. Here, nature-loving guests discover 1,000 km² of protected virgin countryside and a rich cultural tradition, along with a sense of hospitality that has managed to preserve its authenticity and sincerity throughout the years. Taxenbach is a popular holiday destination, not merely because of its untouched nature and rich variety of activities, but also its location in the middle of Hohe Tauern National Park Holiday Region, with such well-known excursion destinations as Krimml Waterfalls, Grossglockner High-Alpine Road and the Kaprun Reservoirs all close at hand.
Being firmly rooted in your own culture, but at the same time with open arms extended to others, is what makes your hosts from the Pinzgau region so very likable. This is also shown in the living traditions of Taxenbachers, their festivals and their evenings of music, all of which they love to share with visitors. Decorative ironwork and painting, carving wood, shearing sheep and spinning wool: just a few of the ancient skills that have managed to survive in the otherwise so fast-paced life of our new millennium. From farmhouse butter out of a wooden mold to fine aromatic rowanberry schnapps, the people of Taxenbach are proud of all they produce - and rightly so. In the Hohe Tauern Organic Region, quality is a top priority, the foundation for enjoyment without compromises.

The people of Taxenbach love their mountains. That's why the hiking professionals invite their guests to unwind and head out on hikes with them - boasting no fewer than 170 km of hiking paths in Taxenbach, 270 km in Rauris and 120 km in the mountain village of Embach.
Numbered trails, easy-to-understand hiking maps and relief maps of the mountains make it easy to plan your tours, even if you are a bit of a rookie. For hikers with added ambitions, our hiking passbook and hiking pins are especially appealing.
But even away from those classic mountain tours, Taxenbach is able to provide even more motion to your holidays. With a bit of training out on the beach-volleyball or tennis courts, a trip to Zell am See to enjoy a dip in the lake, or perhaps some fun in Taxenbach's skate park, your vacation will always stay loose and relaxed. Cyclists and mountain bikers are greeted by 75 km of marked routes, ideally suited for leisurely bike outings, but also serving up exciting expeditions such as the Tauern Bike Path. Bike transportation as well as rentals are both offered locally. Overview maps and information about the Goldberg Bike Path, the Tauern Bike Path and the Rad & Bike Pinzgau Region are available at the local tourist offices. Add even more adventure and excitement to your vacation with a canyoning trip through spectacular Kitzloch Gorge or enjoying a rafting tour on the River Salzach. And with family rafting adventures as well as "Pirate Rafting", the youngsters aren't in the slightest neglected either.

Small is beautiful, and that applies to Taxenbach as well. Out on extended walks, many cultural treasures are just waiting to be discovered. Monuments and trail-side altars, chapels and crosses. In Taxenbach itself, the theme path “Taxenbach Journey through Time” leads explorers, big and small, to many of the town’s historical sights. The key to unlimited cultural enjoyment throughout Salzburg province is the “SalzburgerLand Card”. It is available at the tourist office and opens the door to over 200 attractions and cultural sites, including free admission to all the museums in Salzburg City. In Rauris, the Card allows you to ride the mountain lifts or discover gold-panning sites at the Bodenhaus and Heimalm, while here in Taxenbach itself, Kitzlochklamm is also free of charge.

The festivals and heritage events in Taxenbach are vibrant and an important part of each and every season. When the first maypole is erected, it marks the start of a summery array of music festivals, country dances and folk festivals, culminating in September and October with Harvest Festival. It is then that the Harvest is brought in and the cattle driven down to the valley from summer grazing in the mountains – a good opportunity to present and sample local products such as cheese, bacon and schnapps, and enjoy mouthwatering bites of recipes passed down through the generations. 

Taxenbach Tourist Office
Marktstrasse 33
5660 Taxenbach, Österreich

Tel.: 06543/5252
Fax: 06543/5252-5

Naturbelassene Kulissen - für einzigartige Momente

Ein bisschen verträumt, aber mit grandiosem Blick auf die Bergwelt des Nationalparks Hohe Tauern, so zeigt sich Taxenbach am Anfang des Rauriser Tales mitten im Salzburger Land. Hier finden naturbewusste Genießer 1000 km² geschützte Ur- und Kulturlandschaft und eine Gastfreundschaft, die sich ihre Ursprünglichkeit und echte Herzlichkeit bewahrt hat. Taxenbach punktet als Ferienziel nicht nur durch seine unberührte Natur und abwechslungsreiche Aktivitäten, seine Lage inmitten der Ferienregion Hohe Tauern lässt bekannte Ausflugsziele wie die Krimmler Wasserfälle, die Großglockner Hochalpenstraße oder die Kapruner Stauseen in unmittelbare Nähe rücken.
In der eigenen Kultur verwurzelt sein und mit offenen Armen auf den anderen zugehen, das macht die Liebenswürdigkeit der Pinzgauer Gastgeber aus. Dies zeigt sich auch in der gelebten Tradition der Taxenbacher, ihren Festen und Musikabenden, die sie gerne mit ihren Gästen teilen. Schmiedekunst, bäuerliche Malerei, Holzschnitzen, Schafe scheren und Wolle spinnen sind nur einige der alten Handwerkskünste, die hier bis in den schnelllebigen Alltag unseres neuen Jahrtausends überlebt haben. Von der Bauernbutter aus dem Holzmodel bis zum fein aromatischen Vogelbeerschnaps, auf ihre Erzeugnisse sind die Taxenbacher stolz - und das mit Recht. Qualität steht in der Bioregion Hohe Tauern an vorderster Stelle, eine Grundvoraussetzung für ungetrübten Genuss.

Die Taxenbacher lieben ihre Berge. Deswegen laden die Wanderprofis ihre Gäste zum Entspannen und Mitwandern ein – auf einer stolzen Strecke von 170 km Wanderwegen in Taxenbach, 270 km in Rauris und 120 km im Bergdorf Embach.
Zahlenkennzeichnungen, übersichtliche Wanderkarten und Alpenreliefkarten erleichtern auch für Anfänger die Tourenplanung. Für besonders Ambitionierte ist Wanderpass und Wandernadel für große und kleine Gäste ein zusätzlicher Anreiz.
Aber auch abseits der klassischen Bergtouren kommt in Taxenbach Bewegung in den Urlaub. Ein bisschen Training im Beach-Volleyball oder auf dem Tennisplatz, ein Badeausflug nach Zell am See oder eine Runde auf dem Taxenbacher Skate Park, der Urlaub bleibt locker und entspannt. Auf Biker und Radler warten 75 km ausgeschilderte Wege, für sanftes Genussradeln bestens geeignet, aber auch für ambitioniertere Pedalritter auf dem Tauernradweg. Radtransport und Radverleihstellen wird im Ort angeboten. Übersichtskarten und Info zu Goldberg-Radweg, Tauernradweg und Rad & Bike Pinzgau liefern die Tourismusverbände. Abenteuerlich und besonders spritzig wird der Urlaub mit einem Schuss Wildwasser: bei einem Canyoning-Ausflug in die spektakuläre Kitzlochklamm oder einer Rafting-Tour auf der Salzach. Dabei kommen auch die kleinen Gäste nicht zu kurz, etwa beim Familien Rafting, beim Piraten Rafting.

Small is beautiful, das gilt auch für Taxenbach. Bei ausgedehnten Spaziergängen sind viele kulturelle Kleinode zu entdecken, Denkmäler und Bildstöcke, Kapellen und Wegkreuze. In Taxenbach selbst führt der Themenwanderweg „Taxenbacher Zeitreise“ große und kleine Entdecker zu den historischen Sehenswürdigkeiten des Ortes. Der Schlüssel zum unbeschränkten Kulturgenuss im ganzen Land Salzburg ist die „SalzburgerLand Card“. Sie ist erhältlich im Tourismusverband und öffnet Tür und Tor zu über 200 Attraktionen und Kulturstätten bis hin zu freiem Eintritt zu allen Museen der Stadt Salzburg. In Rauris geht es mit der Card gratis hoch hinaus mit den Rauriser Hochalmbahnen oder zu den Goldwaschplätzen Bodenhaus und Heimalm und in Taxenbach selbst ist der Zugang zur Kitzlochklamm kostenlos.

Lebendig und ein wichtiger Teil der Jahreszeiten sind die Feste und Brauchtumsveranstaltungen in Taxenbach. Wenn am ersten Mai der Maibaum aufgestellt wird, beginnt in der Gemeinde ein sommerlicher Reigen an Musikfesten, Bauerntänzen und Volksfesten, der im Bauernherbst im September und Oktober seinen Höhepunkt erfährt. Dann wird die Ernte eingeholt und das Vieh von den Almen ins Tal getrieben – eine gute Gelegenheit um in der großen Schmankerlstraße beim Bauernherbstfest die heimischen Produkte wie Käse, Speck und Schnaps zu präsentieren und viele, kleine Kostprobenportionen von Köstlichkeiten nach überlieferten Rezepten aufzutischen. 

Tourismusbüro Taxenbach
Marktstrasse 33
5660 Taxenbach, Österreich

Tel.: 06543/5252
Fax: 06543/5252-5

E-Mail: info@taxenbach.at
Web: www.taxenbach.at